Those at the 2016 Spring Conference Learn About Proposed Changes to Math SOLs

Approximately 100 teachers and administrators enjoyed Michael Bolling’s presentation on Wednesday, March 16, at the Spring 2016 V2CTM Conference.  Michael, who serves as the Director of Mathematics at the Virginia Department of Education, gave attendees an overview of the proposed changes to the Mathematics SOL in Virginia which were presented to the State Board of Education on March 17.  The timeline for the SOL revision is for it to be reviewed and approved by Fall, 2016.  He also challenged teachers toward excellence in teaching and highlighted recent improvements on statewide math scores.

The conference was hosted by Fort Defiance High School where a delicious catered meal was prepared by White Hill Catering.  At the business meeting, the new slate of officers was approved including the election of President-Elect Laurie Biser from Augusta County Public Schools.  New Board members include Angie Deitz of Augusta County Schools, Missy Luikart from Rockingham County Public Schools, and Ellen Avalos from Harrisonburg City Schools.  John (Zig) Siegfried will continue as Treasurer.  Also at the business meeting, awards were presented to Dr. Bob Hanson for 50 years of teaching mathematics at JMU, to Joe Hill for 23 years of editing the V2CTM newsletter (Jenny Gibson is taking over these duties), and to Maria Swartzentruber from Linville-Edom Elementary School in Rockingham County for being presented the H. Joseph Hill Award for Excellence in Teaching  Mathematics.

This entry was posted in From VCTM/NCTM. Bookmark the permalink.